top of page

New Deadline


During Kiirarock 2015 we also had the chance to talk with the guys from New Deadline. What they had to say about their new album and their experience opening for bands like “The Used”, you can read in our interview.

How did you come up with your band name? And what does New Deadline mean or stands for?

Jonas: I think I came up with it. I think it is based on the general guidelines in life. That you always reach for something new and you have always something to strive for.

Describe your music in 3 words.

Lauri: We have in our bio “Scandinavian post-aggressive ….ähhh…

Positive. Aggressive and melancholy.

How did you meet? And how did you form your band?

Markus: Me and Eemeli…

Eemeli: yeah already in the kindergarten. We know us over 20 years.

L: And we are from the same city.

E: Me and Markus played in the same band and then Jonas joined. After some twist and turns Lauri joined us and we formed a new band.

After you published your EP “Youth” in 2012 , you just released your debut record “ Remember”. Your single “Rodeo” and your record has been on Finnish radio. So how is it to hear your own song(s) on radio?

L: Cool

J. It wasn’t our first song that was played in the radio. They played older ones also. But on that level, it is cool.

M: But still for me it always feels weird. But when I hear it, I always put it louder and like:” It’s my song!”

Was it different to hear your first single from your actual first album?

All: Yes.

E: And actually “Rodeo” wasn’t supposed to be a real single. It was more supposed to be a teaser or the album. But when we send it to YLEX (Finnish radio station), they put to their playlists. And it was a complete surprise for us, because it is a quite heavy song and we didn’t think that it would play in the radio at all.

But was “Monte Rosa” planned to be your first single?

All: Yes

You have a collaboration with the singer from Deep Inisght Jukka Nikunen for the song “Last To Let Go”. How did you get involved with Jukka? And what is the song about?

J: We’ve known the guys now for years. And the original idea for getting someone’s feet on the record just came up. And it would be a good idea to do something that we never have done before. And we came up with Jukka. Jukka is a very inspirational guy to all of us. And we are listen to this band since we were 7/8. This band is important for all of us.

Tell me something about that song.

J: It is the easiest song of the album, sort of. But it is still pretty…, not heavy but like… rocky.

Yeah, Lauri came up with the bass riff in the beginning and we started from there. For the melody and accords I liked ,we have been around for a bit longer. And it would work as a solo only but works great as a feature song because of the verses and the melody changes and stuff.

Where do you get your inspiration for your songs?

J: So many things. (All agree) Life. Other bands. The lyrics are all pretty personal to me, I do the most of them. But the other guys give input as well. But the lyrics are mostly personal for me because they are from my emotions.

E: Yeah the songs coming from emotions and feelings. We don’t write songs that just sound good, it has to feel good for us.

What do you think was the reason for your success?

J: I think we doing the things for the right reasons and we love doing it. It has never been for the success and money.

E: I think we would still do it also no one knows us.

You have been touring a lot in the past. And you also opened for big bands like The Used, Silverstein, Funeral for a Friend , Lostalone and Taking Back Sunday. Frist how did it came to that?

E: Funeral for a friend was a long time ago and that was a competition. But the other ones just have been like as soon have confirmed the shows in Finland, I immediately contacted the promoters. Try to keep calling them and pushing the band.

And how were those experience for you?

J: It has been really good. We have been listening the bands since we were kids.All the guys we have met were super nice. And it would have sucked if they would have been assholes. But they were laid back.

E: And they have been pretty normal.

J: It still feels like a normal show for us, of course sometimes you feel humbled. And when they did the soundcheck it’s like: “OMG!” But when we play the show it feels like pretty normal. But still it is a huge thing for us.

Do you have any rituals before a show? Which one?

E: I start to stretch and warming up, because my hands starts to hurt when I start playing. And I start to do that much more before a gig and it is really helping.

J: I warming up my voice.

M: We do that by our own. We take half an hour off and warming up.

What was the weirdest location you had a gig?

E: At a train station in Malmi, a suburb of Helsinki. I was playing drums and there was a window behind me. I could see the trains.

How do you see the music business in 10 years?

E: I think it is in a really interesting place right now. Everything is changing. Downloads are going huge and streaming is going huge. And records are not selling, although vinyl is getting more. I think it will straighten up at some point It will have to. There are so many Indy labels right now. And in my opinion they will over run the major labels because they have more music coming out.

L: Indy rock is now the majority.

J: It is good that you basically don’t even need a label anymore. People make a single and release it digitally. It gets a huge hit.

What kind of music or songs did your parents “torture” you? Or did you like that songs/music and still listen to those?

E: Actually my parents listen to Finnish Rock like Epunormaali and Dingo and stuff like that.

M: And my dad also listen to things like Pink Floyd.

J: My dad listen a lot to Bruce Springsteen.

L: Bob Dylan and The Eagles and Jimi Hendrix.

Was there a special moment that influenced you to make music? Which ones?

E: I had this moment maybe on 7th grade, I start playing drums. When we have been skateboarding you (Markus) kinda taught me the basic beats. And that was: Yeah! And I couldn’t stop playing.

M: I guess I always wanted to do this. I can’t remember when I start to do music. Maybe as long as I can remember.

J: In my school years I was involved in music classes. And as teenager I started to listen to bands I liked and realized that I wanted to be a singer.

L: I remember watching this watching this video cassette from a recording of a gig of “The Prodigy” from the 90’s.

What is your favorite song from the 80’s?

E: Something from Queen. I think “Under pressure” was 80’s.

J: “Total eclipse of the Heart” by Bonnie Tyler

M: I am really not into 80’s music.

L: I am really into 80’s pop.


Recent Posts
bottom of page